When cows meet robots

Agricultural Sciences at ETH Zurich

  • Natural Sciences
1
Then and now
2
Sustainability
October 2021
3
World Food System Center
November 2021
4
Global local
November 2021
5
The future
December 2021
Episode 1

Then and now

The history of a higher educational establishment in the field of agriculture dates back to the middle of the 19th century. The agricultural associations in particular campaigned for an agricultural discipline at the Polytechnic Institute – as early as 1860 and 1863, the Federal Council was petitioned by the Société jurassienne d'émulation, the Landwirtschaftlicher Zentralverein and the Verein schweizerischer Landwirte. A year later, the Schweizerische Landwirtschaftliche Verein also submitted a request to the Federal Assembly. It was to take another seven years, however, before the Polytechnic Institute’s forestry divisiont was expanded into an agriculture and forestry division in 1871.

Humble beginnings

The first three professors were soon appointed: Adolf Kraemer for livestock farming, Anton Nowacki for plant production and cultivation and Kraemer’s future son-in-law Ernst Schulze for agrochemistry. While agricultural sciences already had a firm place at universities abroad, especially in Germany, teaching in Switzerland had previously been based primarily on practical knowledge. This was about to change.

The agricultural division took on considerable importance right from the beginning, and the new discipline was awarded 12 per cent of the total ETH Zurich budget available at the time.

Adolf Kraemer, ca. 1886. (Photo: Johannes Ganz. ETH Library Zurich, Image Archive)
Adolf Kraemer
One of the first agricultural books for universities and schools. The Agricultural School of the Federal Polytechnicum in Zurich by Adolf Kraemer; 1871.
At the time of its foundation, Adolf Kraemer, Professor of Livestock Farming, describes the newly created study programme.
The Agricultural School of the Federal Polytechnicum in Zurich by Adolf Kraemer; 1871.
(Photo: Johannes Ganz. ETH Library Zurich, Image Archive)
Federal act of 1869 signed by the presidents and secretaries of the National Council and the Council of States.
Federal act of 1869
Federal act of 1869 signed by the presidents and secretaries of the National Council and the Council of States.

Why Agricultural Sciences?

In 1871, five students took up the initially two-year-long programme in Agricultural Sciences, four of whom graduated: Tommaso Galanti from Venice, Pietro Masetti from Florence, Gilbrecht von Löw from Florstadt (Hesse in Germany) and Joseph Frey from Oberehrendingen in the Canton of Aargau. What exactly were they meant to take away from their studies? Professor Kraemer wrote an article on the new “Landwirthschaftliche Schule des eidgenössischen Polytechnicums zu Zürich” in the agricultural publication Schweizerische Landwirtschaftliche Zeitung.

“This goal can (...) be none other than to develop pupils’ powers of observation and judgement through a scientifically thorough treatment of the subject matter and (...) to enable them to understand the phenomena of their profession from a higher perspective, in order to base their observation of them on sound knowledge free of ambiguities and uncertainties, and to attain the necessary independence in the utilisation, in the application of the result of this knowledge on a practical basis.”

Today, around 315 students are enrolled in the Agricultural Sciences degree programmes. Why study Agricultural Sciences? Two professors and a doctoral student explain what fascinates them about Agricultural Sciences at ETH.

Simple questions – Complex answers

Hunger, malnutrition, environmental destruction and climate change are some of the most pressing issues of recent decades. The ETH Zurich education in Agricultural and Food sciences helps to address these issues in a well-founded approach. “We take it for granted that agriculture is practised, and food is produced. Of course, we know how to do it best. But producing food is a complex matter,” confirms Achim Walter, Professor of Crop Science and former Director of Studies in Agricultural Sciences. “Every form of production, every harvest, indeed every act of collection has consequences and side effects we often only become aware of years or even generations later.” Agricultural Sciences are thinking ahead, also emphasizes Nina Buchmann, Professor of Grassland Sciences.

Dive into the rich history of this diverse discipline, watch our anniversary film and stay informed about upcoming events at agri150.ethz.ch.

Episode 2 – October 2021
What do today’s Agricultural Sciences have to do with sustainability? In the second episode, we’ll present an overview of the current direction in research and teaching.

Rate this Article

Wenn Kühe auf Roboter treffen

Agrarwissenschaften an der ETH Zürich

  • Natural Sciences
1
Damals und heute
2
Nachhaltigkeit
Oktober 2021
3
World Food System Center
November 2021
4
Global lokal
November 2021
5
In Zukunft
Dezember 2021
Episode 1

Damals und heute

Die Geschichte einer höheren landwirtschaftlichen Bildungsanstalt reicht zurück bis in die Mitte des vergangenen 19. Jahrhunderts. Vor allem die landwirtschaftlichen Verbände setzten sich für eine landwirtschaftliche Disziplin am Polytechnikum ein. Bereits 1860 und 1863 hatten sich die Société jurassienne d'émulation, der Landwirtschaftliche Zentralverein und der Verein schweizerischer Landwirte mit Petitionen an den Bundesrat gewandt. Ein Jahr später stellte auch der Schweizerische Landwirtschaftliche Verein ein Gesuch an die Bundesversammlung. Es sollte noch sieben weitere Jahre dauern, bis im Jahr 1871 die forstliche Abteilung des Polytechnikums zu einer land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Abteilung erweitert wurde.

Bescheidener Anfang

Bald wurden die ersten drei Professoren berufen: Adolf Kraemer für Viehzucht, Anton Nowacki für Acker- und Pflanzenbau und Kraemers späterer Schwiegersohn Ernst Schulze für Agrochemie. Während im Ausland, besonders in Deutschland, die Agrarwissenschaften schon ihren festen Platz an den Universitäten hatten, wurde in der Schweiz bis anhin vor allem Erfahrungswissen vermittelt. Dies sollte sich nun ändern.

Der Stellenwert der landwirtschaftlichen Abteilung war von Anfang an hoch. So bekam die neue Disziplin zwölf Prozent der damaligen Budgetmittel der ETH zugesprochen.

Adolf Kraemer, ca. 1886. (Bild: Johannes Ganz. ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, Bildarchiv)
Adolf Kraemer
Eines der ersten landwirtschaftlichen Bücher für Universitäten und Schulen. Die landwirtschaftliche Schule des eidgenössischen Polytechnicums zu Zürich von Adolf Kraemer; 1871. (Bild: ETH-Bibliothek Zürich)
Noch im Gründungsjahr beschreibt Adolf Kraemer, Professor für Viehzucht, den neu geschaffenen Studiengang.
Die landwirtschaftliche Schule des eidgenössischen Polytechnicums zu Zürich von Adolf Kraemer; 1871.(Bild: ETH-Bibliothek Zürich)
Bundesgesetz von 1869, unterschrieben von den Präsidenten und den Protokollführern von National- und Ständerat.
Bundesgesetz von 1869
Bundesgesetz von 1869, unterschrieben von den Präsidenten und den Protokollführern von National- und Ständerat.

Warum Agrarwissenschaften?

1871 nahmen fünf Studierende das zunächst zwei Jahre dauernde Studium der «Landwirtschaftswissenschaften» auf, wovon vier das Studium abschlossen: Tommaso Galanti aus Venedig, Pietro Masetti aus Florenz, Gilbrecht von Löw aus Florstadt (Hessen) und Joseph Frey aus Oberehrendingen im Kanton Aargau. Was genau sollten sie aus dem Studium mitnehmen? In der «Schweizerischen Landwirtschaftlichen Zeitung» schreibt Professor Kraemer eine Abhandlung über die neue «Landwirthschaftliche Schule des eidgenössischen Polytechnicums zu Zürich».

«Dieses Ziel kann (…) kein anderes sein, als durch eine wissenschaftlich gründliche Behandlung des Lehrstoffes das Beobachtungs- und Urtheils-Vermögen der Schüler zu entwickeln und sie (…) zu befähigen, die Erscheinungen in ihrem Berufe von höheren Gesichtspunkten aufzufassen, um die Betrachtung derselben auf eine gediegene, von Unklarheiten und Unsicherheiten freie Erkenntnis zu stützen und in der Verwerthung, in der Anwendung des Ergebnisses des Wissens auf das praktische Leben die erforderliche Selbstständigkeit zu erringen.»

Heute sind rund 320 Studierende im Studiengang Agrarwissenschaften eingeschrieben. Warum studieren sie Agrarwissenschaften? Zwei Professorinnen und ein Doktorand erklären, was sie an den Agrarwissenschaften an der ETH fasziniert.

Einfache Fragen – Komplexe Antworten

Hunger, Fehlernährung, Umweltzerstörung und Klimawandel gehören zu den drängendsten Themen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Die ETH-Ausbildung in den Agrar- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften trägt dazu bei, diese Fragen fundiert anzugehen. «Wir halten es für selbstverständlich, dass Ackerbau betrieben und Nahrung produziert wird. Natürlich wissen wir, wie das am besten geht. Doch Nahrungsmittel herzustellen ist eine komplexe Angelegenheit», bestätigt auch Achim Walter, Professor für Kulturpflanzenwissenschaften und ehemaliger Studiendirektor der Agrarwissenschaften. «Jede Form von Produktion, jede Ernte, ja jedes Sammeln hat Konsequenzen und Nebenwirkungen, deren wir uns oft erst Jahre oder sogar Generationen später bewusst werden.» Die Agrarwissenschaften denken in die Zukunft, betont auch Nina Buchmann, Professorin für Graslandwissenschaften.

Tauchen Sie ein in die reiche Geschichte dieser vielfältigen Disziplin, schauen Sie unseren Jubiläumsfilm und bleiben Sie informiert über die kommenden Events unter agri150.ethz.ch.

Episode 2 – Oktober 2021
Was haben die heutigen Agrarwissenschaften mit Nachhaltigkeit zu tun? In der zweiten Folge geben wir eine Übersicht über die Ausrichtung der aktuellen Forschung und Lehre.

Bewerte diesen Artikel