Fascinating bird’s eye view

Aerial photographs and their scientific importance

  • Fotografie
13. Dezember 2018

What a revelation the first photographs of a place taken from the air must have been for the people who lived there! Until then – in the 18th and 19th centuries – only a handful of (wealthier) men and even fewer women had the time, courage and means to climb high mountains and see what the world looked like from above.

Walter Mittelholzer and the pioneers of aerial photography

After the invention of photography more or less in parallel by Frenchmen Joseph Nicéphore Niépce (1765–1833) in 1826 1 , Louis Daguerre (1787–1851) in 1839 2 and the Englishman William Henry Fox Talbot (1800–1877) in 1841 3 , it was only another 20 years before a photographer took a camera on a balloon trip. In 1858, the French photographer Nadar (1820–1910) 4 took the first aerial photograph of the Battle of Solferino from a tethered balloon; unfortunately, the picture has not survived. The American James Wallace Black took his first aerial photograph of Boston (Massachusetts) in 1860. In Switzerland, Eduard Spelterini (1852–1931) 5 , a balloonist from St. Gallen, made dozens of balloon trips between 1891 and 1893, upon which he photographed Swiss towns, landscapes and even the Alps. 6

With the outbreak of the First World War and the formation of air forces, aerial photography was used extensively for military reconnaissance purposes. In Switzerland, the St. Gallen photographer Walter Mittelholzer (1894–1937) particularly excelled in this field. After the war, Mittelholzer, who by then had also become a qualified commercial pilot, founded the company Aero-Gesellschaft Comte Mittelholzer & Co., which merged with another airline in 1920 to form Ad Astra Aero AG. In the early years, aerial photograph sales proved to be a more reliable business than the initially irregular flights with well-to-do passengers. They featured landscapes, places, factories, hotels and farms.Click to tweet The prints were sold individually to municipalities, factory owners, landlords, farmers, tourist offices and illustrated magazines. Mittelholzer chose the subject matter himself; gradually, however, he began to receive requests and commissions.

After Ad Astra Aero AG merged with Balair in 1931 to form Swissair, and Mittelholzer became Technical Director, he continued his aerial photography in the subsidiary Ad Astra Photo AG, which was renamed Swissair Photo AG in 1934. When Mittelholzer was killed in a mountaineering accident on 1937, the photographer Werner Friedli took the helm until 1960. Following the hiatus due to the Second World War, Swissair Photo AG continued to sell aerial photographs of municipalities and industrial businesses, founded a postcard printing house and published a book of photographs every couple of years. To this day, an aerial photograph of the municipality or one’s own house still hangs in many Swiss apartments, the majority of which stemming from Swissair or Air Color SA. 7

A photographic genre

Aerial images are photographic depictions of the earth from a bird’s-eye view or aircraft. From the First World War onwards, this kind of picture was used systematically for reconnaissance. Before long, however, scientists also discovered the technique for their own purposes. In cartography, aerial photography is still a key foundation in the production of map materials to this day.

A distinction is drawn between angled and vertical shots:

• angled aerial photographs serve as artistic, photographic views for architectural and landscape photographs for remote sensing;

• vertical aerial photographs are used to produce maps (cartography). 8

Often, aerial photography is regarded as a technical genre. As the photographs mechanically follow a clearly defined procedure, the photographer is not named.

Stephan Landtwing, member of the management board of the Swiss-German company BSF Swissphoto AG, explains how aerial photos are produced professionally today. The "successors of Walter Mittelholzer", as they call themselves, are active worldwide in the geodata industry with the three divisions 3D-Mapping, Engineering Surveying/Geo Monitoring and Consulting.

The large collection of historic aerial photographs in the Image Archive

With over 1.3 million aerial photographs, ETH Library’s Image Archive boasts the largest collection of historic aerial photographs in Switzerland.Click to tweet 9 By comparison: the Image Archive’s entire holdings currently total at around 3.5 million photographs (as of October 2018). The Collection of Aerial Photographs presently spans from 1918 to 2014 and predominantly comprises the following five large-scale holdings:

Walter MittelholzerPeriod: 1919–1937; Subjects: places, towns, landscapes, mountains, industrial buildings; Geography: all over Switzerland, Africa, Middle East; Volume: 14,500 angled shots, glass slides and plastic negatives, large format 13 x 18 cm, black and white; Companies: Ad Astra AG and Swissair; Digitisation/online publication: all images can be used online and free of charge. (Image: Le Locle at 100 m, approx. 1925, LBS_MH01-004655) 10 Holdings Walter Mittelholzer
Swissair Photo AGPeriod: 1937–2011; Subjects: places, towns, landscapes, mountains, industrial buildings, transport structures; Geography: all over Switzerland; Volume: 87,000 photographs, including 56,000 angled shots and 31,000 vertical shots, glass slides, plastic negatives and slides, large formats 13 x 18 cm to 23 x 23 cm, black and white and colour; Photographers: Werner Friedli, Joe Bischofberger, to name but a few; Digitisation/online publication: from quarter 2019 all can be used online and free of charge. (Image: McDonnell Douglas DC-10-30-30, HB-IHB "Schaffhausen" flying over Niesen, Lake Thun and Frutigen,1973-1984, LBS_SR04-055611)Holdings Swissair Photo AG
Comet Photo AGPeriod: 1957–1999; Subjects: mostly produced in connection with reports: places, towns, industrial buildings, transport structures; Geography: German-speaking Switzerland; Volume: 78,000 photographs, including 56,000 black and white and 22,000 colour angled shots, plastic negatives and slides, large format 13 x 18 cm; Photographers: not named; Digitisation/online publication: 18% are already online, digitisation in progress. (Image: National road N1/Motorway A1 in Buriet-Thal, junction Rheineck, 1962, Com_F62-00204) 11 Holdings Comet Photo AG
Aircolor SAPeriod: 1983-2014; Subjects: Single buildings (952,000) and places (95,000); Geography: all over Switzerland; Volume: 1.047 million colour angled shots, plastic negatives and digital photographs, medium format 6 x 9 cm; Photographers: not named; Digitisation/Online publication: being planned. (Image: Bremgarten (AG), 1985, AIC_02-0A-251050-005)
Desair AGPeriod: 1987-2014; Subjects: places, towns, landscapes, mountains, industrial buildings, transport structures, gravel quarries, recultivation projects; Geography: German-speaking Switzerland, Swiss Plateau, Jura; Volume: 90,500 colour angled shots, plastic negatives and slides, medium format 6 x 7 cm; Photographer: Heinz Leuenberger (one-man company); Digitisation/online publication: being planned. (Image: Zurich-Oerlikon, Oerliker Park, 2007, Des_07-66-001)

The archiving processes

Naturally, our users are unable to imagine much about library or archiving duties from outside. However, they are repeatedly astounded by how many images from a vast range of fields are available for download and free usage on the image database E-Pics Image Archive Online. One aspect in particular is worthy of mention: the archival preparation of print photographs is extremely time and resource-consuming, which is why it is performed highly systematically. By the end of this story, you will be capable of working out the workload yourself.

Accepting holdings

When accepting holdings, key preliminary decisions are made for all further work processes: what will be processed when and in what form? The prioritisation and degree of processing are thus defined based on the content-related focuses and the available (human) resources.

Cataloguing

Student assistants remove the original packaging, usually plastic or pergamin covers, and pack the images in acid-free and padded paper suitable for archiving. In the process, they give both the photo carrier and the packaging material a clear location number. All metadata, i.e. any labelling on the photograph and the original packaging, is recorded in an Excel table. Fortunately, we have been receiving an increasing number of holdings with electronic metadata, which we tailor towards our database.

Digitisation

Digitisation is performed after the cataloguing phase in our own in-house DigiCenter. Again, it is predominantly student assistants who work here under the guidance of experts. They produce reproductions with the digital medium format camera Hasselblad H3D/H5D and scans using the Nikon Coolscan 5000 for small image formats. Due to user requirements – if someone needs to prove in court that the pergola on his or her house had not yet been created at a particular time point, for example – a printer resolution of A2 at 300 dpi has become the norm for aerial photographs. Other images are provided in A3 format.

The images are saved as 8-bit TIFFs in RGB. The image data is corrected as little as possible, whereby the workload is greater for colour photographs.

Indexing

The image files and metadata lists are now imported into the image database. ETH Library’s Image Archive has been working with the digital asset management software “Cumulus” developed by the company Canto since 2005. During indexing, the photographs are labelled with the genre, location and, if need be, a subject heading.

Genre: Given the vast quantity of aerial photographs, the keyword “aerial photography” is divided into low and high-flying angled and vertical shots. As the altitude at which the photographs were taken is usually unknown, they are divided into “high” and “low” based on visual criteria, the most important of which being the visibility of windows on houses. Every photograph is systematically given only one genre keyword.

Place: Usually, we only issue one keyword for the first place named in the title, whether this be a political one (municipality) or a natural, geographical one (mountain, lake). The reason for this is also the vast quantity of aerial photographs. However, the note can already be prepared in the catalogue lists, which is less time-consuming than doing so directly on the database.

Subject title: If a building (e.g. a textiles factory) or a piece of infrastructure (e.g. a motorway) is the main subject of an aerial photograph, this is usually referenced.

All in all, it is safe to say that the archiving process for each photograph takes at least one hour! Now you can do the numbers: we have already uploaded 430,000 photographs...

Significance for research

So why go to all this trouble? One of the main duties of libraries and archives is to provide (culturally and historically valuable) documents and enable them to be used – for both academia and the public.Click to tweet For many years, aerial photographs have been the most used images in the Image Archive. Architects, urban planners, biologists and even private individuals use the aerial photographs for scientific assessments, planning work, court cases, hobbies or simply as a memento.

Professor Konrad Schindler, Professor of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing at ETH Zurich, explains what researchers use historical aerial photographs for and how they produce their own aerial photographs for current research questions with little technical effort.

Maha Soltaniehha, doctoral student and research associate with a professorship for spatial development at ETH Zurich, reports on the advantages of aerial photography. Just as she needs them for the development and use of free spaces.

The crowd lends a hand

Do you know more about a photograph? Then send us your comments! Every image on E-Pics Image Archive Online has a feedback form in the image information (more information on this is also available in our Crowdsourcing Blog).

Geocoordinates are advantageous for many ways of using aerial photographs for academic purposes. However, the photographs in the Image Archive need to be georeferenced first. Since January 2018, interested members of the public have been able to georeference selected aerial photographs in a fun way on the platform sMapshot.

Viewing Earth from the air has become par for the course today: thanks to Google Maps, the latest aerial and satellite images can be accessed from virtually anywhere on the planet at any time. ETH Library’s Image Archive is archiving, indexing and digitising a culturally and historically important treasure trove of over 1.3 million aerial photographs documenting the development of Switzerland in the last 100 years from above.

Footnotes

  1. The very first photograph ↩︎
  2. Inventor of the daguerreotype ↩︎
  3. The first ever commercial book illustrated with photographs was originally published in six parts between 1844 and 1846. Talbot, William Henry Fox (2011): The pencil of nature [reprint] ed.. Chicago: KWS. ↩︎
  4. ↩︎
  5. Really Eduard Schweizer. Kramer, Thomas; Capus, Alex; Spelterini, Eduard, & Museum im Bellpark (2007): Eduard Spelterini: Fotografien des Ballonpioniers. Zurich: Scheidegger & Spiess. ↩︎
  6. From 1898 onwards, he also conducted flights over the Alps – including one with ETH Zurich professor Albert Heim. Heim, Albert; Maurer, Julius, & Spelterini, Eduard (1899): Die Fahrt der "Wega" über Alpen und Jura: 3 October 1898. Basel: Benno Schwabe, Verlagsbuchhandlung. ↩︎
  7. Weidmann, Ruedi & ETH-Bibliothek (2014): Swissair Luftbilder: das Luftbildarchiv der Swissair = Swissair aerial photographs: the Swissair Aerial Photography Archive. Zurich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Image Worlds No. 4). ↩︎
  8. https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luftbildfotografie ↩︎
  9. The Collection of Historical Aerial Photographs at Swisstopo consists of around half a million, https://www.swisstopo.admin.ch/content/swisstopo-internet/de/topics/historical-images/aerial-photo/_jcr_content/contentPar/tabs/items/dokumente_publikatio/tabPar/downloadlist/downloadItems/428_1463568860400.download/Kennwerte-und-Merkmale_bf.pdf. ↩︎
  10. Surber, Kaspar & ETH-Bibliothek (2016): Walter Mittelholzer revisited: aus dem Fotoarchiv von Walter Mittelholzer = from the Walter Mittelholzer Photography Archive. Zurich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Image Worlds No. 6). ↩︎
  11. Albeit without the aerial photographs: Kreis, Georg & ETH-Bibliothek (2015): Fotomosaik Schweiz: das Archiv der Pressebildagentur Comet Photo AG = Photo mosaic Switzerland: the Archive of the Image Agency Comet Photo AG. Zurich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Image Worlds No. 5). ↩︎

Faszination Vogelperspektive

Luftbilder und ihre Bedeutung in der Forschung

  • Fotografie
13. Dezember 2018

Welch offenbarende Wirkung mussten die ersten Fotografien eines Ortes aus der Luft wohl auf seine Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner gehabt haben! Früher – im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert – wussten höchstens ein paar (wohlhabendere) Herren und vereinzelte Damen, die Zeit, Mut und Musse hatten, um auf hohe Berge zu steigen, wie die Welt von oben aussah.

Walter Mittelholzer und die Pioniere der Luftbildfotografie

Nach der quasi gleichzeitig stattfindenden Erfindung der Fotografie durch die Franzosen Joseph Nicéphore Niépce (1765–1833) im Jahr 1826 1 und Louis Daguerre (1787–1851) im Jahr 1839 2 sowie den Engländer William Henry Fox Talbot (1800–1877) im Jahr 1841 3 dauerte es nur knapp weitere 20 Jahre, bis ein Fotograf eine Kamera auf eine Ballonfahrt mitnahm. Der französische Fotograf Nadar (1820–1910) 4 machte 1858 von einem Fesselballon aus das erste, leider nicht erhaltene Luftbild der Schlacht von Solferino. Der Amerikaner James Wallace Black schoss sein erstes Luftbild von Boston (Mass.) im Jahr 1860. In der Schweiz startete der St. Galler Ballonfahrer Eduard Spelterini (1852–1931) 5 zwischen 1891 und 1893 zu dutzenden Ballonfahrten, auf denen er Schweizer Städte, Landschaften und auch die Alpen fotografierte 6 .

Mit dem Ersten Weltkrieg und dem Entstehen von Fliegertruppen wurde die Luftbildfotografie vielerorts für die militärische Aufklärung verwendet. In der Schweiz tat sich insbesondere der St. Galler Fotograf Walter Mittelholzer (1894–1937) auf diesem Gebiet hervor. Nach dem Krieg gründete Mittelholzer, inzwischen war er auch brevetierter Zivilpilot, die Fluggesellschaft Aero-Gesellschaft Comte Mittelholzer & Co., die 1920 mit einer anderen Fluggesellschaft zur Ad Astra Aero AG fusionierte. In den ersten Jahren war der Verkauf von Luftbildern das zuverlässigere Standbein als die zunächst unregelmässigen Flüge mit vermögenden Passagieren. Fotografiert wurden Landschaften und Ortschaften, Fabriken, Hotels und Bauernhöfe.Zum Tweeten klicken Die Abzüge verkaufte man einzeln an die Gemeinden, Fabrikanten, Wirte und Bauern, Verkehrsvereine und illustrierte Zeitschriften. Mittelholzer wählte die Motive selber; mit der Zeit erhielt er aber auch Anfragen und Aufträge.

Als die Ad Astra Aero AG 1931 mit der Balair zur Swissair fusionierte und Mittelholzer deren technischer Direktor wurde, führte er die Luftfotografie in der Tochterfirma Ad Astra Photo AG weiter, die 1934 in Swissair Photo AG umbenannt wurde. Nach Mittelholzers Bergtod 1937 übernahm der Fotograf Werner Friedli bis 1960 die Leitung. Nach einer Unterbrechung durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg verkaufte die Swissair Photo AG weiterhin Luftaufnahmen von Gemeinden und Industriebetrieben, gründete einen Postkartenverlag und publizierte alle paar Jahre einen Fotoband. Noch heute hängt in vielen Schweizer Wohnungen ein Luftbild der Gemeinde oder des eigenen Hauses, meist produziert von Swissair oder der Air Color SA 7 .

Ein fotografisches Genre

Bei Luftbildern bzw. Luftaufnahmen handelt es sich um die fotografische Abbildung der Erde aus der Vogelperspektive bzw. aus Luftfahrzeugen. Ab dem Ersten Weltkrieg wurden solche Bilder systematisch zu Aufklärungszwecken eingesetzt. Wenig später entdeckten auch die Naturwissenschaften diese Technik für ihre Zwecke. In der Kartografie ist die Luftbildfotografie bis heute eine wesentliche Grundlage zur Erstellung von Kartenmaterialien. Dabei unterscheidet man zwischen Schräg- und Senkrechtaufnahmen:

• Schräg aufgenommene Luftbilder dienen als künstlerische fotografische Ansichten für Architektur- und Landschaftsaufnahmen zur Fernerkundung.

• Senkrecht aufgenommene Luftbilder werden für die Herstellung von Karten (Kartografie) benutzt 8 .

Oft gilt die Luftbildfotografie als technisches Genre. Die Aufnahmen folgen mechanisch einem klar definierten Ablauf. Daher wird der Name des Fotografen, der Fotografin nicht angegeben.

Wie Luftbilder heute professionell produziert werden, erklärt Stephan Landtwing, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung der schweizerisch-deutschen Firma BSF Swissphoto AG. Die «Nachfolger Walter Mittelholzers», wie sie sich nennen, sind in der Geodatenbranche mit den drei Geschäftsbereichen 3D-Mapping, Ingenieurvermessung/GeoMonitoring und Consulting weltweit tätig.

Die grosse Sammlung historischer Luftbilder im Bildarchiv

Mit über 1,3 Millionen Luftbildern besitzt das Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek schweizweit den grössten Bestand an historischen Luftbildern. 9 Im Vergleich dazu: Der Gesamtbestand des Bildarchivs beläuft sich im Moment (Oktober 2018) auf rund 3,5 Millionen Fotografien. Aktuell deckt die Luftbildsammlung einen Zeitraum von 1918 bis 2014 ab und bildet sich mehrheitlich aus den folgenden fünf Grossbeständen:

Walter MittelholzerZeitraum: 1919–1937; Motive: Ortschaften, Städte, Landschaften, Berge, Industriebauten; Geografie: ganze Schweiz, Afrika, Naher Osten; Umfang: 14‘500 Schrägaufnahmen, Glasplatten und Kunststoffnegative, Grossformat 13 x 18 cm, schwarz-weiss; Firmen: Ad Astra AG und Swissair; Digitalisierung/Onlineschaltung: alle Bilder sind online und frei nutzbar. (Bild: Le Locle aus 100 m, ca. 1925, LBS_MH01-004655 ) 10 Bestand Walter Mittelholzer
Swissair Photo AGZeitraum: 1937–2011; Motive: Ortschaften, Städte, Landschaften, Berge, Industriebauten, Verkehrsbauten; Geografie: ganze Schweiz; Umfang: 87‘000 Bilder, davon 56‘000 Schrägaufnahmen und 31‘000 Senkrechtaufnahmen, Glasplatten, Kunststoffnegative sowie Kunststoffdiapositive, Grossformate 13 x 18 cm bis 23 x 23 cm, schwarz-weiss sowie farbig; Fotografen: Werner Friedli, Joe Bischofberger u. v. m.; Digitalisierung/Onlineschaltung: Ab Q1/2019 sind alle online und frei nutzbar. (Bild: McDonnell Douglas DC-10-30, HB-IHB "Schaffhausen" im Flug über Niesen, den Thunersee und Frutigen,1973-1984, LBS_SR04-055611)Bestand Swissair Photo AG
Comet Photo AGZeitraum: 1957–1999; Inhalt: meist im Zusammenhang mit Reportagen entstanden: Ortschaften, Städte, Industriebauten, Verkehrsbauten; Geografie: Deutschschweiz; Umfang: 78‘000 Bilder, davon 56‘000 schwarz-weisse und 22‘000 farbige Schrägaufnahmen, Kunststoffnegative und Kunststoffdiapositive, Grossformat 13 x 18 cm; Fotografen: namentlich nicht aufgeführt; Digitalisierung/Onlineschaltung: 18% sind bereits online, Digitalisierung in Arbeit. (Bild: Nationalstrasse N1/Autobahn A1 in Buriet-Thal, Anschluss Rheineck, 1962, Com_F62-00204) 11 Bestand Comet Photo AG
Aircolor SAZeitraum: 1983–2014; Inhalt: Einzelgebäude (952‘000) und Ortschaften (95‘000); Geografie: ganze Schweiz; Umfang: 1,047 Millionen farbige Schrägaufnahmen, Kunststoffnegative und digitale Fotografien, Mittelformat 6 x 9 cm; Fotografen: namentlich nicht aufgeführt; Digitalisierung/Onlineschaltung: Ortschaften in Planung. (Bild: Bremgarten (AG), 1985, AIC_02-0A-251050-005)
Desair AGZeitraum: 1987–2014; Inhalt: Ortschaften, Städte, Landschaften, Berge, Industriebauten, Verkehrsbauten, Kieswerke, Rekultivierungsprojekte; Geografie: Deutschschweiz, Mittelland, Jura; Umfang: 90‘500 farbige Schrägaufnahmen, Kunststoffnegative und Kunststoffdiapositive, Mittelformat 6 x 7 cm; Fotograf: Heinz Leuenberger (Einzelfirma); Digitalisierung/Onlineschaltung: in Planung. (Bild: Zürich-Oerlikon, Oerliker Park, 2007, Des_07-66-001)

Die archivarischen Prozesse

Unsere Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können sich von aussen naturgemäss wenig unter bibliothekarischen oder archivarischen Aufgaben vorstellen. Sie sind dennoch immer wieder erstaunt, wie viele Bilder aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen auf der Bilddatenbank E-Pics Bildarchiv Online zum Downloaden und zur freien Nutzung bereitstehen. Eins sei vorausgeschickt: Die archivarische Aufbereitung der analogen Bilder ist äusserst zeit- und ressourcenintensiv und erfolgt deshalb sehr systematisch. Zum Schluss dieser Story werden Sie in der Lage sein, selber eine Hochrechnung des Arbeitsaufwandes zu machen.

Bestandesübernahme

Bei der Bestandesübernahme werden wichtige Vorentscheidungen für alle weiteren Arbeitsprozesse getroffen: Was wird wann in welcher Form bearbeitet? Die zeitliche Priorisierung der Bearbeitung sowie die Bearbeitungstiefe werden also in Abstimmung mit inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten sowie vorhandenen (personellen) Ressourcen definiert.

Inventarisierung

Studentische Hilfskräfte entfernen die originalen Verpackungen, meist Kunststoff- oder Pergaminhüllen, und verpacken die Bilder in säurefreies und gepuffertes, archivierungsbeständiges Papier. Dabei versehen sie sowohl den Fototräger als auch das Verpackungsmaterial mit einer eindeutigen Signatur. Sämtliche Metadaten, also alle Beschriftungen auf dem Bild bzw. der Originalverpackung, werden in eine Excelliste übertragen. Erfreulicherweise erreichen uns immer mehr Bestände mit elektronisch erfassten Metadaten, die wir für unsere Datenbank passgenau aufbereiten.

Digitalisierung

Die Digitalisierung erfolgt nach der Inventarisierung im hauseigenen DigiCenter. Auch hier arbeiten unter Anleitung von Fachpersonen überwiegend studentische Hilfskräfte. Sie erstellen Reproduktionen mit den digitalen Mittelformatkameras Hasselblad H3D/H5D bzw. Scans mit dem Nikon Coolscan 5000 für Kleinbildformate. Bei den Luftbildern hat sich aufgrund der Nutzerbedürfnisse – jemand muss beispielsweise vor Gericht nachweisen, dass die Pergola an seinem Haus zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt noch nicht erstellt war, – eine Druckerauflösung von A2 auf 300 dpi eingebürgert. Sonstige Bilder werden auf das Format A3 ausgerichtet.

Die Bilder werden als 8-Bit-Tiffs in RGB gespeichert. Die Bilddaten werden so wenig wie notwendig korrigiert, wobei sich der Aufwand bei Farbbildern grösser gestaltet.

Erschliessung

Nun werden die Bilddateien und die Metadatenlisten in die Bilddatenbank importiert. Das Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek arbeitet seit 2005 mit der Digital Asset Management Software „Cumulus“ der Firma Canto. Bei der Erschliessung werden die Bilder beschlagwortet, und zwar mit dem Genre, dem Ort und allenfalls einem Sachschlagwort.

Genre: Angesichts der grossen Menge an Luftbildern ist das Schlagwort Luftbildfotografie unterteilt in tief- und hochgeflogene Schräg- und Senkrechtaufnahmen. Da die Aufnahmehöhe meist nicht bekannt ist, erfolgt die Einteilung in hoch und tief nach optischen Kriterien. Das wichtigste Kriterium ist hierbei die Sichtbarkeit von Fenstern bei Häusern. Jedes Bild erhält konsequent nur ein Genre-Schlagwort.

Ort: In der Regel vergeben wir nur ein Schlagwort für den im Titel erstgenannten Ort, sei dies ein politischer (Gemeinde) oder ein naturgeografischer Ort (Berg, See). Der Grund hierfür liegt ebenfalls in der grossen Menge an Luftbildern. Die Beschlagwortung kann jedoch bereits in der Inventarliste vorbereitet werden, was zeitlich weniger aufwendig ist als direkt in der Bilddatenbank.

Sachschlagwort: Falls ein Gebäude (z. B. Textilfabrik) oder ein Infrastrukturbau (z. B. Autobahn) das zentrale Motiv eines Luftbildes ist, wird dieses in der Regel beschlagwortet.

Alles in allem kann gesagt werden, dass der Arbeitsaufwand pro Bild mindestens eine Stunde beträgt! Jetzt dürfen Sie rechnen: Wir haben bereits 430‘000 Bilder online gestellt…

Bedeutung für die Forschung

Wozu also dieser immense Aufwand? Eine wesentliche Aufgabe von Bibliotheken und Archiven ist die Bereitstellung und Nutzbarmachung von (kulturhistorisch wertvollen) Dokumenten – sei dies für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler oder für die Öffentlichkeit.Zum Tweeten klicken Luftbilder sind seit Jahren die meistbenutzten Bilder des Bildarchivs. Architektinnen, Siedlungsplaner, Biologinnen, aber auch Privatpersonen nutzen die Luftbilder für wissenschaftliche Auswertungen, Planungsarbeiten, Gerichtsfälle, Hobbies oder einfach zur Erinnerung.

Konrad Schindler, Professor für Photogrammetrie und Fernerkundung an der ETH Zürich, erklärt wozu Forschende historische Luftbildern nutzen und wie sie heute mit wenig technischem Aufwand selber Luftbilder für aktuelle Forschungsfragen erstellen.

Maha Soltaniehha, Doktorandin und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin mit Professur für Raumentwicklung an der ETH Zürich berichtet über die Vorteile von Luftbildern. Ebenso, wie sie diese für die Entwicklung und Nutzung von freien Flächen verwendet.

Die Crowd hilft mit

Wissen Sie mehr zu einem Bild? Dann schreiben Sie uns Ihre Kommentare! Bei jedem Bild auf E-Pics Bildarchiv Online finden Sie in den Bildinformationen hierfür das Feedback-Couvert (mehr dazu auch in unserem Blog Crowdsourcing). Für viele wissenschaftliche Nutzungsarten von Luftbildern sind Geokoordinaten von Vorteil. Dafür müssen die Luftbilder des Bildarchivs zuerst georeferenziert werden. Seit Januar 2018 kann das interessierte Publikum ausgewählte Luftbilder in spielerischer Weise auf der Plattform sMapshot georeferenzieren.

Das Betrachten der Erde aus der Luft ist heute selbstverständlich geworden: mit Google Maps sind die aktuellen Luft- und Satellitenbilder von praktisch jedem Ort der Erde jederzeit abrufbar. Das Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek archiviert, erschliesst und digitalisiert einen kulturhistorisch bedeutenden Schatz von über 1,3 Millionen Luftbildern, der die Entwicklung der Schweiz in den letzten 100 Jahren von oben dokumentiert.

Fussnoten

  1. Die erste Fotografie überhaupt ↩︎
  2. Erfinder der Daguerreotypie ↩︎
  3. Das erste mit Fotografien illustrierte und kommerzielle Buch aller Zeiten erschien ursprünglich in sechs Lieferungen zwischen 1844 und 1846. Talbot, William Henry Fox (2011): The pencil of nature [reprint] ed.). Chicago: KWS. ↩︎
  4. Eigentlich Gaspard-Félix Tournachon ↩︎
  5. Eigentlich Eduard Schweizer. Kramer, Thomas; Capus, Alex; Spelterini, Eduard, & Museum im Bellpark (2007): Eduard Spelterini : Fotografien des Ballonpioniers. Zürich: Scheidegger & Spiess. ↩︎
  6. Ab 1898 unternahm er auch Flüge über die Alpen. Einer davon zusammen mit dem ETH-Professor Albert Heim: Heim, Albert; Maurer, Julius, & Spelterini, Eduard (1899): Die Fahrt der "Wega" über Alpen und Jura : Am 3. Oktober 1898. Basel: Benno Schwabe, Verlagsbuchhandlung. ↩︎
  7. Weidmann, Ruedi & ETH-Bibliothek (2014): Swissair Luftbilder: das Luftbildarchiv der Swissair = Swissair aerial photographs: the Swissair Aerial Photography Archive. Zürich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Bilderwelten No. 4). ↩︎
  8. https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luftbildfotografie ↩︎
  9. Die Sammlung historischer Luftbilder bei Swisstopo umfasst rund eine halbe Million, https://www.swisstopo.admin.ch/content/swisstopo-internet/de/topics/historical-images/aerial-photo/_jcr_content/contentPar/tabs/items/dokumente_publikatio/tabPar/downloadlist/downloadItems/428_1463568860400.download/Kennwerte-und-Merkmale_bf.pdf ↩︎
  10. Surber, Kaspar & ETH-Bibliothek (2016): Walter Mittelholzer revisited: aus dem Fotoarchiv von Walter Mittelholzer = from the Walter Mittelholzer Photography Archive. Zurich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Image Worlds No. 6). ↩︎
  11. Allerdings ohne die Luftbilder: Kreis, Georg & ETH-Bibliothek (2015): Fotomosaik Schweiz: das Archiv der Pressebildagentur Comet Photo AG = Photo mosaic Switzerland: the Archive of the Image Agency Comet Photo AG. Zürich: Scheidegger & Spiess (Bilderwelten No. 5). ↩︎