Georeferencing

Making knowledge a new experience in 3-D

  • Service for Research

Do you want to browse old maps with your smartphone? Experience the history of where you live from a new perspective? Discover fascinating facts about geographical points along the way? You can do all this and more through georeferencing, with which spatial information is added to digital media.

Terms like georeferencing, spatial data or geoinformation all sound pretty technical. They tend to be associated with specific branches of science, such as geography, geoinformatics, environmental sciences and spatial planning, but this has changed over the last 15 years. Google Maps opened the door to web-based maps and geodata to an ever-broader public.

Google Maps Screenshot of the University campus Zurich
The ETH Library on Google Maps, retrieved on 12 November 2020

The ETH Library also makes use of georeferencing methods, allowing it to index more facets of its holdings and thus offer users new, intuitive access through interactive map interfaces. Map collection holdings are particularly well-suited for georeferencing, but other media such as old prints, photographs, periodicals or herbaria also have spatial references that can be recorded and further processed. These newly recorded references help users to answer questions quickly and precisely, to find specific media, to establish links between holdings and knowledge, and to acquire new knowledge. However, they also allow you to simply browse maps and images with your smartphone. This translates into enormous added value and benefits not only students and researchers but broad swathes of the interested public as well.

What exactly is georeferencing?

Georeferencing is when certain media are linked with spatial information, with a distinction being made between three different methods:

  • Point referencing (also referred to as geotagging)
  • Surface referencing (2-D georeferencing)
  • 3-D georeferencing

Making your point – Assigning coordinates through point referencing (geotagging)

In point referencing, coordinates are assigned to a single object. This could be an object in a photograph or a place mentioned in a text, for example. The coordinates define a specific point on the globe through the specification of latitude and longitude. Localities or lakes can also be referenced by a single point, with the geometric centre of gravity of the respective area often determining the precise location.

Photographic Institute of ETH Zurich
Photographic Institute of ETH Zurich: Zurich, main building (HG) of ETH Zurich, east facade, taken from the balcony of the Institute of Agriculture and Forestry, west building (LFW), 1930 (Ans_00172-A)

An example of the use of point referencing at the ETH Library is ETHorama. This platform aspires to visually link places and areas in Switzerland with appropriate contemporary and historical content.

An interactive map (based on Google Maps) shows locations to which individual digital documents are linked: images, texts and historical maps from the various source systems of the ETH Library (E-Pics, e-rara, e-manuscripta, E-Periodica and Research Collection). 1 A distinction is made between two types of markers: points of interest (POI) and areas of interest (AOI). A POI is used for defined points, such as sights and tourist attractions, individual buildings or bridges, while an AOI marks a specific area, such as a village, lake or valley. However, an AOI is also recorded as single point coordinate.

Ein Printscreen von ETHorama
The big circle stands for an AOI (the locality of Lenzburg), and the small marker indicates a POI (Lenzburg Castle).

The content on ETHorama is selected and point-referenced, that is, assigned to a POI or an AOI, by ETH Library staff members. This means that journal articles and digital copies of old prints can be indexed by location down to the page level. For example, users can follow the entire route on a map while reading a historical travel report. New additions to ETHorama can be found in the thematic collections, which display content in a thematically consolidated manner (e.g. only documents on the subject of castles and palaces, or only aerial photographs by Walter Mittelholzer). ETHorama now contains more than 45,000 images, texts and historical maps at over 5,600 locations.

Georeferencing of documents in ETHorama is also used for the research platform swisscovery. For resources with a location reference, a “Geographical reference” tab appears in the list of results. This tab lists the locations to which the document was linked on ETHorama.

Screenshot of swisscovery
Display of a document with geographical reference in swisscovery

Using point referencing, spatial attributes can thus also be assigned to media like texts or objects, making it easier to find search objects, such as the location of a specific plant.

Going below the surface – Precise localisation through surface referencing

Surface referencing assigns coordinates to each individual point (pixel or dot) of a digital image. In this way, an image or a map can be precisely located on a virtual globe. Libraries have been using an intermediate form of point and surface referencing for some time. A national map or an aerial photograph taken vertically is recorded using its four boundary coordinates. This creates what is referred to as a bounding box, which represents the corresponding surface in the form of a cuboid.

Swissair Photo AG: Bern, 2 July 1971.
Aerial photograph taken vertically (orthophoto) (LBS_R1-715844); on sMapshot

The ETH Library has been recording bounding boxes since it has had the Map Department, that is, for almost 50 years. It is the only institution in Europe to do this for each of the 400,000 maps currently in its holdings. Over the years, the technology has continuously evolved: from manually recording coordinates in the library system, to the use of geographic information systems (GIS) that provide ready-made boundary coordinates, through to web-based applications, the tools for surface referencing have become better and more efficient over time.

Printed overview sheets (1972 to ca. 2000).
Before the use of computer-assisted research platforms, the overview sheets for certain works of cartography were updated by hand. Users then had to look for the desired regions in huge folders on-site.
Library system Aleph (2001–2020/2021), as of 7 December 2020 Alma.
In the library system, the boundary coordinates are recorded twice: once in a “speaking” version (can be read and interpreted by people, field 255) and once in a machine-readable version (field 034).
Toporama (1997–2015).
At the ETH Library, GIS programs that depicted the map holdings on virtual maps and thus made them searchable were already in use at an early point in time.
MapSeries (since 2015).
The successor to Toporama is MapSeries. It offers the works of cartography and the metadata necessary for indexing in a browser-based format. This access is not available to the public, but Kartenportal.CH is:
Kartenportal.CH (since 2014).
Kartenportal.CH uses the boundary coordinates recorded in the library system and displays them on a web map, enabling spatial search for printed and digital maps from home. This is where the recorded boundary coordinates come into their own.

Surface-referenced data is also used outside the library system, such as on Kartenportal.CH, the specialist portal for maps in Swiss libraries and archives. The advantage of the recorded boundary coordinates becomes apparent here: the user can see at a glance whether a map covers the part of the world that interests them.

Georeferencer shows how it works to surface-reference a complete image – that is, not just the frame. This tool converts digitized maps – such as city maps, along with geological or other subject-based maps – into a virtual globe using reference or ground control points. Each point or pixel on a map is assigned its own coordinate and can be combined or compared with other maps on this basis. Such data allow high-quality analyses – such as in the field of spatial sciences – or browsing of maps with your smartphone or GPS device. In order to be able to carry out the extensive work required for this, the ETH Library relies on crowdsourcing. Interested persons can georeference maps themselves, with ETH Library staff members performing quality checks.

Example of the overlay of a fully georeferenced map onto Google Maps.
Example of the overlay of a fully georeferenced map onto Google Maps.
https://eth.georeferencer.com/
Using defined ground control points, the scanned map is translated into a virtual globe.
Using defined ground control points, the scanned map is translated into a virtual globe.
https://eth.georeferencer.com/

Swiss cantons and federal offices such as swisstopo are also offering a growing number of georeferenced maps and spatial data – in part due to legal requirements. This often leads to cooperation with libraries and archives, such as with the ETH Library or the Staatsarchiv Zürich state archive.

The ETH Library also makes this official data available to members of ETH Zurich and other universities. For easier access, it operates the GeoVITe portal together with the Institute of Cartography and Geoinformation (IKG) at ETH Zurich.

Experiencing the third dimension – 3-D georeferencing goes in-depth

3-D georeferencing draws the eye into the depth of the space. If surfaces are supplemented by height values, the third dimension can also be referenced. This is particularly interesting in the case of photographs or aerial images taken at an angle, as they can then be correctly located in the space.

The Laboratoire of SIG, School of Management and Engineering Vaud (HEIG-VD), recognised the potential of 3-D georeferencing for historical images and developed sMapshot in 2017. This platform is “a participatory time machine”, according to its own statement, because “in the past, there was no GPS”. A virtual, web-based globe forms the central element, enabling both 3-D georeferencing by volunteers and visualisation and searching of georeferenced images. 2

When georeferencing an image, volunteers first record the camera position, the direction in which the shot was taken and the height of the camera. After that, the sMapshot algorithm carries out calculations based on this data.

After the approximate location for the photograph is determined, the direction in which the shot was taken is defined.
After the approximate location for the photograph is determined, the direction in which the shot was taken is defined.

In a second step, at least four points on the globe and in the image must be identified and reconciled, that is, matched up with each other, so that the algorithm can produce an initial calculation for the accuracy of the georeferencing. Finally, the image can be georeferenced if at least six points are provided.

Six or more points must be set for the image to be “completed”.
Six or more points must be set for the image to be “completed”.

3-D georeferencing of an image is also quite valuable for another reason: it enables precise identification and indexing of places that are visible in the image and that cannot be recorded in such detail with the usual textual metadata. The conventional metadata in the E-Pics Image Archive Online image database is supplemented with the more precise geoinformation from sMapshot. The entire image is recorded as an information unit and users are able to search more precisely.

Smapshot Screenshot showing the villages Bad Ragaz and Sargans
Historical image positioned in the virtual globe.

The ETH Library Image Archive has been working with sMapshot since January 2018. More than 210 volunteers with local knowledge have positioned and thus georeferenced more than 110,000 photographs – primarily aerial photographs so far – on the virtual 3-D globe. Those who register can manage their georeferenced images themselves, but quality checks are carried out by ETH Library staff.

Comet Photo AG: Zurich, main building of ETH Zurich, east facade, May 1992.
Comet Photo AG: Zurich, main building of ETH Zurich, east facade, May 1992.
Aerial photograph taken at an angle during low-level flight (Com_FC24-8001-0351); in sMapshot

Georeferencing – The gateway to new knowledge

The three methods of georeferencing build on tasks performed by scientific institutes and the ETH Library. They lead to the establishment of specialist portals and open up new access to digitized media, thus adding value.

Research also benefits greatly from this. More and more students and researchers require different types of geodata, and efficient access to spatial data makes their work easier.

Georeferencing makes the ETH Library’s documents a gold mine for science. The spatial data can be used to combine content from the holdings with other resources, allowing completely new research questions to be raised and answered. There are also points of contact with the non-natural sciences, such as:

  • Linguistics – in regard to research into how place names originated and changed over time
  • Political sciences – in regard to defining and changing geopolitical boundaries
  • Economics and tourism – in regard to management of supply and demand
  • Journalism – in regard to preparing maps, infographics and factual data, for example in the case of referendums or the very topical subject of epidemics
  • Data sciences – in regard to linking of different data sources using spatial specifications

Trends and outlook

The methods of georeferencing presented here are essentially based on the manual recognition and specification of the location of reference points by library staff members or volunteers. Of course, now there are also automated procedures that are being used and tested at the ETH Library.

One way to recognise geographical names is using OCR (optical character recognition) and NER (named entity recognition). With these procedures, algorithms are used to make text passages such as words, book pages or place names on map sheets machine-readable, and then recognise them as names of persons, institutions or places. These can be linked to geographical information that is already available.

Example of a full text search for “Zürich” on an old print processed with OCR, copy https://doi.org/10.3931/e-rara-70846

Georeferencing gives users access to better library catalogues and specialised portals for fascinating collections. But the added value that institutions like the ETH Library create by indexing their holdings with spatial information is even greater, because linking different media using spatial references creates the basis for new knowledge. In addition to researchers and students, it is of use to everyone interested in finding answers to exciting (research) questions. Georeferencing is thus opening science to inquisitive laypersons and enabling citizen science.

The ETH Library has played an active role in this area for many years. It has fostered the digitization and georeferencing of its own holdings, making the latter available in enhanced form to both experts and the general public.

Footnotes

  1. Hotea, Meda (2015): ETHorama. An easy way to access digital library content. ABI Technik, 35(1), pp. 11–22. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1515/abitech-2015-0001 ↩︎
  2. Produit Timothée and Ingensand Jens (2018): 3-D Georeferencing of Historical Photos by Volunteers. In: Mansourian A., Pilesjö P., Harrie L., van Lammeren R. (eds.): Geospatial Technologies for All. AGILE 2018. Lecture Notes in Geoinformation and Cartography. Cham: Springer, pp. 113–128. ↩︎

Rate this Article

Georeferenzierung

Wissen neu in 3-D erlebbar machen

  • Service for Research

Mit dem Smartphone alte Karten durchwandern? Die Geschichte des eigenen Wohnorts aus einer neuen Perspektive erleben? Wissenswertes zu geografischen Punkten entdecken? Das und noch viel mehr bietet Georeferenzierung, die Anreicherung digitalisierter Medien mit räumlicher Information.

Georeferenzierung, raumbezogene Daten, Geoinformation – das alles klingt sehr technisch. Man neigt dazu, diese Begriffe spezifischen Wissenschaften zuzuordnen: der Geografie, der Geoinformatik, den Umweltwissenschaften oder der Raumplanung. Doch in den letzten 15 Jahren hat sich dies geändert. Denn Google Maps öffnete immer breiteren Teilen der Öffentlichkeit das Tor zu webbasierten Karten und Geodaten.

Auch die ETH-Bibliothek greift auf Methoden der Georeferenzierung zurück. So kann sie ihre Bestände facettenreicher erschliessen und damit Nutzerinnen und Nutzern einen neuen, intuitiven Zugang über interaktive Kartenoberflächen anbieten. Insbesondere Bestände von Kartensammlungen eignen sich gut für eine Georeferenzierung. Aber auch andere Medien wie etwa alte Drucke, Fotografien, Zeitschriften oder Herbarien weisen räumliche Bezüge auf, die erfasst und weiterverarbeitet werden können. Diese neu erfassten Bezüge helfen Nutzerinnen und Nutzern, schnell und präzise Fragen zu beantworten, bestimmte Medien zu finden, Bestände und Wissen zu verknüpfen sowie neues Wissen zu erwerben. Sie erlauben es aber auch, einfach nur mit dem Smartphone in der Hand Karten und Bilder zu durchforsten. Der Mehrwert ist somit enorm und kommt nicht nur Studierenden und Forschenden zugute, sondern auch einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit.

Was ist eigentlich Georeferenzierung?

Georeferenzierung ist die Verknüpfung bestimmter Medien mit räumlichen Informationen. Dabei lassen sich drei Methoden unterscheiden:

  • Punktreferenzierung (auch Geotagging genannt)
  • Flächenreferenzierung (2-D)
  • 3-D-Georeferenzierung

Auf den Punkt gebracht – Koordinatenzuordnung durch Punktreferenzierung (Geotagging)

Bei der Punktreferenzierung werden einem einzelnen Objekt Koordinaten zugeordnet. Dies kann zum Beispiel ein Objekt auf einer Fotografie oder eine in einem Text erwähnte Ortschaft sein. Die Koordinaten definieren einen spezifischen Punkt auf dem Erdball durch einen Breiten- und einen Längengrad. Auch Ortschaften oder Seen lassen sich durch einen einzelnen Punkt referenzieren, wobei dieser oft den geometrischen Schwerpunkt der jeweiligen Fläche festlegt.

Zürich, Hauptgebäude (HG) der ETH Zürich, Fassade Ost, aufgenommen vom Balkon des Land- und Forstwissenschaftlichen Instituts, Westbau (LFW), 1930
Photographisches Institut der ETH Zürich: Zürich, Hauptgebäude (HG) der ETH Zürich, Fassade Ost, aufgenommen vom Balkon des Land- und Forstwissenschaftlichen Instituts, Westbau (LFW), 1930 (Ans_00172-A)

Ein Beispiel für den Einsatz von Punktreferenzierung an der ETH-Bibliothek ist ETHorama. Ziel dieser Plattform ist die visuelle Verknüpfung von Orten und Gebieten in der Schweiz mit passenden zeitgenössischen und historischen Inhalten.

Eine interaktive Karte (basierend auf Google Maps) stellt jene Orte dar, mit denen einzelne digitale Dokumente verknüpft sind: Bilder, Texte und historische Karten aus den unterschiedlichen Quellsystemen der ETH-Bibliothek (E-Pics, e-rara.ch, e-manuscripta.ch, E-Periodica und Research Collection). 1 Dabei unterscheidet man zwischen zwei Markierungen: dem Point of Interest (POI) und der Area of Interest (AOI). Der POI steht für definierte Punkte wie Sehenswürdigkeiten, einzelne Gebäude oder Brücken, während die AOI ein bestimmtes Gebiet markiert, etwa ein Dorf, einen See oder ein Tal. Aber auch die AOI ist als einzelne Punktkoordinate erfasst.

Ein Printscreen von ETHorama
Der grosse Kreis steht für eine AOI (die Ortschaft Lenzburg), die kleine Markierung zeigt einen POI an (das Schloss Lenzburg).

Die Inhalte auf ETHorama werden von Mitarbeitenden der ETH-Bibliothek ausgewählt und punktreferenziert, das heisst einem POI oder einer AOI zugeordnet. So können Zeitschriftenartikel und Digitalisate von alten Drucken bis auf Seitenebene ortsbezogen erschlossen werden. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer haben so beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, die ganze Route aus einem historischen Reisebericht auf der Karte nachzuvollziehen. Neuzugänge auf ETHorama finden sich etwa in den Themensammlungen, die die Inhalte thematisch gebündelt anzeigen (z. B. nur Dokumente zum Thema Schlösser und Burgen oder Luftaufnahmen von Walter Mittelholzer). Inzwischen sind auf ETHorama über 45’000 Bilder, Texte und historische Karten an über 5600 Orten zu finden.

Die Georeferenzierung der Dokumente in ETHorama wird auch für die Rechercheplattform swisscovery genutzt. Bei Ressourcen mit Ortsbezug erscheint in der Ergebnisliste zusätzlich der Tab «Geografischer Bezug». In diesem Tab werden die Orte aufgelistet, mit denen das Dokument auf ETHorama verlinkt wurde.

Screenshot swisscovery
Anzeige eines Dokuments mit geografischem Bezug In swisscovery

Über die Punktreferenzierung können räumliche Attribute somit auch Medien wie Texten oder Objekten zugeordnet werden. So lassen sich Suchobjekte besser finden, zum Beispiel die Fundorte einer speziellen Pflanze.

Die Fläche hat es in sich – genaue Verortung durch Flächenreferenzierung

Die Flächenreferenzierung weist jedem einzelnen Punkt (Pixel oder Dot) einer digitalen Abbildung Koordinaten zu. So lässt sich ein Bild oder eine Karte auf einem virtuellen Globus exakt verorten. Bibliotheken wenden schon länger eine Zwischenform von Punkt- und Flächenreferenzierung an. Dabei wird eine Landeskarte oder ein senkrecht aufgenommenes Luftbild durch seine vier Randkoordinaten erfasst. So entsteht eine sogenannte Bounding Box, die in Form eines Quaders die entsprechende Fläche abbildet.

Swissair Photo AG: Bern, 2.7.1971. Senkrecht aufgenommenes Luftbild (Orthofoto)
Swissair Photo AG: Bern, 2.7.1971.
Senkrecht aufgenommenes Luftbild (Orthofoto) (LBS_R1-715844); auf sMapshot

Die ETH-Bibliothek erfasst Bounding Boxes, seit sie über die Abteilung Karten verfügt, also seit fast 50 Jahren. Als europaweit einzige Institution tut sie dies für jede einzelne der zurzeit rund 400’000 Karten in ihrem Bestand. Über die Jahre hat sich die Technik kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt: Vom manuellen Erfassen der Koordinaten im Bibliothekssystem über die Nutzung von Geoinformationssystemen (GIS), die vorgefertigte Randkoordinaten bereitstellen, bis zu webbasierten Anwendungen sind die Hilfsmittel für die Flächenreferenzierung immer besser und effizienter geworden.

Gedruckte Übersichtsblätter (1972 bis ca. 2000).
Gedruckte Übersichtsblätter (1972 bis ca. 2000).
Vor dem Einsatz von computerunterstützten Rechercheplattformen wurden die Übersichtsblätter zu bestimmten Kartenwerken von Hand nachgeführt. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer mussten dann vor Ort in riesigen Ordnern nach den gewünschten Regionen suchen
Bibliothekssystem Aleph (2001–2020/21), ab 7.12.2020 Alma.
Bibliothekssystem Aleph (2001–2020/21), ab 7.12.2020 Alma.
Im Bibliothekssystem werden die Randkoordinaten zweimal erfasst: einmal in einer «sprechenden» Version (für den Menschen les- und interpretierbar, Feld 255), einmal in einer maschinenlesbaren Version (Feld 034).
Toporama (1997–2015).
Toporama (1997–2015).
An der ETH-Bibliothek kamen früh GIS-Programme zum Einsatz, die die Kartenbestände auf virtuellen Karten abbildeten und so recherchierbar machten.
MapSeries (seit 2015).
MapSeries (seit 2015).
Die Nachfolgelösung von Toporama ist MapSeries. Sie bietet die Kartenwerke bzw. die für die Erschliessung nötigen Metadaten browserbasiert an. Dieser Zugang steht der Öffentlichkeit nicht zur Verfügung, dafür aber das Kartenportal.ch
Kartenportal.CH (seit 2014).
Kartenportal.CH (seit 2014).
Kartenportal.CH verwendet die im Bibliothekssystem erfassten Randkoordinaten und bildet sie auf einer Webkarte ab. Damit ist die räumliche Suche nach gedruckten und digitalen Karten von zu Hause aus möglich. Hier kommen die erfassten Randkoordinaten voll zum Tragen.

Flächenreferenzierte Daten werden auch ausserhalb des Bibliothekssystems verwendet, zum Beispiel auf Kartenportal.CH, dem Fachportal für Karten in den Schweizer Bibliotheken und Archiven. Hier zeigt sich der Vorteil der erfassten Randkoordinaten: Die Nutzerin oder der Nutzer erkennt auf den ersten Blick, ob eine Karte den für sie oder ihn interessanten Teil der Welt abdeckt.

Wie die Flächenreferenzierung einer kompletten Abbildung – also nicht nur des Rahmens – funktioniert, zeigt Georeferencer. Dieses Tool rechnet digitalisierte Karten – etwa Stadtpläne, aber auch geologische oder andere thematische Karten – über Referenz- oder Passpunkte auf einen virtuellen Globus um. So erhält jeder Punkt beziehungsweise jedes Pixel der Karte eine eigene Koordinate und kann über diese mit anderen Karten kombiniert oder verglichen werden. Solche Daten erlauben hochwertige Analysen – zum Beispiel in den Raumwissenschaften – oder das Durchwandern einer Karte mit Smartphone oder GPS. Um diese aufwendige Arbeit überhaupt bewältigen zu können, greift die ETH-Bibliothek auf die Crowd zurück. Interessierte Personen können selbst Karten georeferenzieren, wobei Mitarbeitende der ETH-Bibliothek die Qualitätskontrolle durchführen.

Beispiel für die Überlagerung einer vollständig georeferenzierten Karte auf Google Maps.
Beispiel für die Überlagerung einer vollständig georeferenzierten Karte auf Google Maps.
https://eth.georeferencer.com/
Anhand definierter Passpunkte wird die gescannte Karte auf den virtuellen Globus umgerechnet.
Anhand definierter Passpunkte wird die gescannte Karte auf den virtuellen Globus umgerechnet.
https://eth.georeferencer.com/

Auch Schweizer Kantone und Bundesämter wie swisstopo bieten – unter anderem aufgrund gesetzlicher Vorgaben – immer mehr georeferenzierte Karten und räumliche Daten an. Dabei kommen oft Kooperationen mit Bibliotheken und Archiven zustande, zum Beispiel mit der ETH-Bibliothek oder dem Staatsarchiv Zürich.

Die ETH-Bibliothek stellt den Angehörigen der ETH Zürich und weiteren Hochschulen diese amtlichen Daten ebenfalls zur Verfügung. Für einen einfacheren Zugang betreibt sie zusammen mit dem Institut für Kartografie und Geoinformation (IKG) der ETH Zürich das Portal GeoVITe.

Das Erlebnis der dritten Dimension – 3-D-Georeferenzierung geht in die Tiefe

Die 3-D-Georeferenzierung führt das Auge in die Tiefe des Raumes. Werden Flächen durch die Höhenwerte ergänzt, lässt sich auch die dritte Dimension referenzieren. Besonders spannend ist dies bei Fotografien oder schräg aufgenommenen Luftbildern, da diese so korrekt im Raum verortet werden können.

Das Laboratoire de SIG, Haute École d’Ingénierie et de Gestion du Canton de Vaud (HEIG-VD), hat das Potenzial der 3-D-Georeferenzierung für historische Bilder erkannt und 2017 sMapshot entwickelt. Diese Plattform ist laut eigenen Angaben «die partizipative Zeitmaschine», denn «früher gab es kein GPS». Ein virtueller, webbasierter Globus bildet das zentrale Element, das sowohl die 3-D-Georeferenzierung durch Freiwillige als auch die Visualisierung und Suche georeferenzierter Bilder ermöglicht. 2

Bei der Georeferenzierung eines Bildes erfassen zunächst Freiwillige den Kamerastandort, die Blickrichtung und die Aufnahmehöhe. Danach berechnet der sMapshot-Algorithmus diese Daten.

Nach der Wahl des ungefähren Aufnahmestandorts wird die Blickrichtung definiert.
Nach der Wahl des ungefähren Aufnahmestandorts wird die Blickrichtung definiert.

In einem zweiten Arbeitsschritt müssen mindestens vier Punkte im Globus und im Bild identifiziert und gematcht, das heisst in Übereinstimmung gebracht werden, damit der Algorithmus eine erste Berechnung auf Exaktheit der Georeferenzierung erstellen kann. Schliesslich kann das Bild mit mindestens sechs Punkten fertig georeferenziert werden.

Sechs oder mehr Punkte müssen gesetzt werden, damit das Bild «abgeschlossen» werden kann.
Sechs oder mehr Punkte müssen gesetzt werden, damit das Bild «abgeschlossen» werden kann.

Die 3-D-Georeferenzierung eines Bildes ist noch aus einem anderen Grund sehr wertvoll: Sie ermöglicht eine exakte Identifikation und die Indizierung von Orten, die im Bild sichtbar sind und mit den üblichen textuellen Metadaten in dieser Ausführlichkeit nicht erfasst werden können. Die herkömmlichen Metadaten in der Bilddatenbank E-Pics Bildarchiv Online werden mit den präziseren Geoinformationen von sMapshot ergänzt. Diese erfassen das ganze Bild als Informationseinheit und erlauben Nutzerinnen und Nutzern eine genauere Suche.

Smapshot Screenshot von Sargans und Bad Ragaz
Historisches Bild im virtuellen Globus.

Seit Januar 2018 arbeitet das Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek mit sMapshot. Über 210 ortskundige Freiwillige haben mehr als 110’000 Fotografien – bisher vor allem Luftbilder – im virtuellen 3-D-Globus positioniert und somit georeferenziert. Eingetragene Personen können ihre georeferenzierten Bilder selbst verwalten. Die Qualitätskontrolle führen allerdings Mitarbeitende der ETH-Bibliothek durch.

Comet Photo AG: Zürich, Hauptgebäude der ETH Zürich, Fassade Ost, 5.1992.
Comet Photo AG: Zürich, Hauptgebäude der ETH Zürich, Fassade Ost, 5.1992.
Im Tiefflug schräg aufgenommenes Luftbild (Com_FC24-8001-0351); in sMapshot

Georeferenzierung – Das Tor zu neuem Wissen

Die drei Methoden der Georeferenzierung knüpfen an Aufgaben an, die wissenschaftliche Institute sowie die ETH-Bibliothek erfüllen. Sie führen zum Aufbau spezifischer Portale und öffnen neue Zugänge zu den digitalisierten Medien. Dadurch schaffen sie Mehrwert.

Auch die Forschung zieht einen hohen Nutzen daraus. Immer mehr Studierende und Forschende benötigen unterschiedliche Arten von Geodaten, und effiziente Zugänge zu räumlichen Daten erleichtern ihnen die Arbeit.

Die Georeferenzierung macht die Dokumente der ETH-Bibliothek zu einer Goldmine für die Wissenschaft. Über die räumlichen Daten lassen sich Inhalte aus den Beständen mit anderen Ressourcen kombinieren. So können ganz neue Fragestellungen aufgeworfen und beantwortet werden. Ferner bestehen Anknüpfungspunkte zu Nicht-Naturwissenschaften, zum Beispiel:

  • Sprachwissenschaften – für die Erforschung der Entwicklung und Veränderung von Ortsnamen
  • Politikwissenschaften – zur Festlegung und Veränderung von geopolitischen Abgrenzungen
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Tourismus – für die Steuerung von Angebot und Nachfrage
  • Journalismus – zur Aufbereitung von Karten, Infografiken und Sachdaten, etwa bei Abstimmungen oder ganz aktuell bei Epidemien
  • Datenwissenschaften – bei der Verknüpfung von verschiedenen Datenquellen über räumliche Angaben

Trends und Ausblick

Die hier vorgestellten Methoden der Georeferenzierung basieren im Wesentlichen auf der manuellen Erkennung und Verortung von Referenzpunkten durch Bibliotheksmitarbeitende oder Freiwillige. Inzwischen gibt es natürlich auch automatisierte Verfahren, die genutzt und an der ETH-Bibliothek getestet werden.

Eine Möglichkeit zur Erkennung von geografischen Namen bieten OCR («optical character recognition» – optische Zeichenerkennung) und NER («named entity recognition» – Eigennamenerkennung). Bei diesen Verfahren werden über Algorithmen Textpassagen wie Wörter, Buchseiten oder Ortsnamen auf Kartenblättern maschinell lesbar gemacht und dann als Personen-, Institutions- oder Ortsnamen erkannt. Diese können mit bereits verfügbaren geografischen Informationen verknüpft werden.

Beispiel einer Volltextsuche nach «Zürich» in einem mit OCR bearbeiteten alten Druck.
Beispiel einer Volltextsuche nach «Zürich» in einem mit OCR bearbeiteten alten Druck. Exemplar

Dank Georeferenzierung gewinnen Nutzerinnen und Nutzer Zugang zu besseren Bibliothekskatalogen und spezialisierten Portalen für interessante Bestände. Der Mehrwert, den Institutionen wie die ETH-Bibliothek durch die Erschliessung ihrer Bestände mit räumlicher Information schaffen, ist aber noch grösser. Denn die Verknüpfung unterschiedlicher Medien anhand räumlicher Referenzen schafft eine Grundlage für neues Wissen. Angesprochen werden dabei nicht nur Forschende und Studierende, sondern grundsätzlich alle, die sich spannenden (Forschungs-)Fragen widmen. Georeferenzierung öffnet die Wissenschaft somit auch interessierten Laien und ermöglicht Citizen Science.

Die ETH-Bibliothek nimmt in diesem Bereich seit Jahren eine aktive Rolle ein. Sie treibt die Digitalisierung und die Georeferenzierung der eigenen Bestände voran und stellt Letztere in angereicherter Form sowohl Fachpersonen als auch Menschen aus der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung.

Fussnoten

  1. Hotea, Meda (2015): ETHorama. Ein unkomplizierter Zugang zu digitalen Bibliotheksinhalten. ABI Technik, 35 (1), S. 11–22. doi: https://doi.org/10.1515/abitech-2015-0001 ↩︎
  2. Produit Timothée, Ingensand Jens (2018): 3D Georeferencing of Historical Photos by Volunteers. In: Mansourian A., Pilesjö P., Harrie L., van Lammeren R. (eds): Geospatial Technologies for All. AGILE 2018. Lecture Notes in Geoinformation and Cartography. Cham: Springer, S. 113–128. ↩︎

Bewerte diesen Artikel